CUSTOMER SATISFACTION

Customer Satisfaction and Service Quality

SQIS stands for Service Quality Information Systems and describes the instruments necessary to evaluate customer satisfaction and service quality.

Customer satisfaction cannot be evaluated on the basis of a one-time measurement, nor can one individual method illuminate all of its many facets. Keeping this in mind, we offer a complete toolbox of techniques which lay open all relevant aspects of customer satisfaction. Below is an overview of the various techniques.

Benchmarking

Benchmarking means learning by understanding the competition.

The aim is to identify best practices within a specific branch or segment in order to recognize and eliminate vulnerabilities in one's own company.

  • raises the overall standard of the branch or segment
  • shows which procedures work best in order to recognize weaknesses in the own company
  • enables the tracking of changes and progress within own company (internal benchmarking)

Our role is to investigate the differences among several companies or competitors (for ex. the quality of customer assistance) as well as to survey changes taking place within a given time period within the company itself.

Customer Surveys

Customer surveys are the most common method to evaluate customer satisfaction. Customer surveys can:

  • measure attitudes of customers to your company
  • point to trends
  • evaluate the effects of your marketing activities
  • verify the success of your attempts to improve performance.

Mystery Shopping

Mystery Shopping is the chief method used to monitor the ways in which your salespersons/consultants interact with customers.

A genuine customer (or one who appears to be) is sent to a branch or outlet as a tester.

Utilizing this method it becomes clear whether salespersons act as they should, and whether the products you aim to sell are actually recommended at P.O.S..

More on Mystery Shopping

Employee Surveys

For various reasons, employee surveys are essential in evaluating customer satisfaction.

Employee as internal customer:

A company's employees find themselves in a type of customer-supplier relationship and can thus be seen as internal customers.

Employees as early warning system:

Thanks to their daily activities, employees may recognize vulnerabilities sooner as customers.

Conveys appreciation and trust to employees:

Measures implemented by management must be actively supported by employees.

Lost Customer Analysis

Lost customer analyses are utilized in particular for those clients or segments characterized by high turnover and profits. This type of analysis is the strongest weapon with which to recapture lost customers and/or to retain those customers who are presently considering switching.

Advantages:

  • Lost customer analyses have an extraordinarily high return on investment
  • customers who were almost lost may become extremely loyal if their problem with the company is solved
  • understanding the reasons why a customer switches enables a better understanding of the competition itself.

Perceptual Research

Perceptual research explores the ways in which your company is perceived, especially in contrast to competitors.

Surveying one's own customers exclusively may lead to a distorted picture of reality. Your own customers may be satisfied with your company, yet there may be a large number of customers with special needs who are extremely loyal to your competitors. Why is this so? Perhaps your competitor offers a range of features which you have not considered.

For this reason, this type of survey explores the attitudes of not only your customers, but also the customers of your competitors as well as other potential customers. In this way the actual market value of your company can be evaluated: not from the viewpoint of your own customers, but from that of the entire market.

Focus Groups

Focus groups are groups of 6 to 12 persons who meet in order to discuss a specific topic.

Possible areas of application include:

  • Tests: customers test products and services and provide feedback
  • Satisfaction: customers discuss the fine line between service experiences which are satisfactory and those which are unsatisfactory
  • Ad-hoc issues: customers offer their own ideas and approaches to solving problems with products and/or services.
  • etc.

Invent-the-Future Groups

Invent-the-Future groups are a special type of focus group. At issue here is not current problems, but rather consumers' attempt to "discover the future" in brainstorming sessions. What types of services will be demanded in the future? What can and should be offered?

Advisory Groups

While focus group participants meet only once, participants in advisory groups meet at regular intervals. Participants may be especially "valuable" customers who are given the opportunity to help develop products and services. In addition to the possibilities inherent in focus groups, this type of group provides the option of developing real partnerships with valuable customers.

Transaction Analysis

Transaction analysis means surveys which measure customer satisfaction in their daily interaction with the company. Transactions may feature contact with a person (e.g. the purchase of a cinema ticket at a cinema) or no contact (invoices).

The interview must take place as soon as possible following the transaction:

  • the customer can remember the transaction well and is able to describe any problems
  • problems may be solved immediately ("real-time solutions")
  • makes a good impression on the customer, who feels well looked after.

An illustrative example:

A customer has her car repaired and receives the invoice by mail. On the following day, the customer is contacted by phone and asked whether everything was OK; whether the information contained in the invoice was sufficient (if not, this may be immediately corrected); whether the customer is satisfied with the service; if there are suggestions for improvement.

New Customer Feedback

The first encounter a customer has with a product or service determines whether the customer will revisit or repurchase. This type of post-purchase survey aims above all to ascertain the level of satisfaction of this first encounter and to ease the way for a future relationship with the company.

This type of survey is structured much like a transaction analysis but is tailored to new customers. Here, the interview also must be carried out as soon as possible after the first encounter.

Example:

The customer purchases a high-end fax machine which supposedly can "do everything." However, the manual is so complicated that the customer cannot even get the machine hooked up properly. The customer will decide in favor of another product the next time (and likely one which he knows he can operate easily).

Complaint Analysis

For each unsatisfied customer who complains, there are nine who simply end their relationship with the company without a word. Each unsatisfied customer tells around 10 other people about their experience. Thus one complaint not handled correctly may lead to the loss of around 100 potential customers. We believe that these numbers, generated in an IBM survey, speak for themselves.

Complaint management may be an internal matter, but there are certain things which may be more efficiently explored outside the company.

© 2016 Hoffmann & Forcher

KUNDENZUFRIEDENHEIT

Kundenzufriedenheit und Servicequalität

SQIS steht für Service Quality Information Systems und beschreibt Werkzeuge zur Erhebung von Kundenzufriedenheit und Servicequalität. Weder kann Kundenzufriedenheit mit einer einmaligen Messung erhoben, noch mit einer einzigen Methode alle Aspekte ausgeleuchtet werden. Um dieser Tatsache Rechnung zu tragen, bieten wir eine umfassende Toolbox an Techniken, die auch kleinste Details sichtbar machen soll. Untenstehende Übersicht soll Ihnen einen kurzen Überblick geben.

Benchmarking

Benchmarking heißt ziemlich wörtlich "Von seinen Mitbewerbern zu lernen". Das Ziel ist die besten Praktiken (innerhalb einer Branche/eines Segments) herauszufinden, um Schwächen im eigenen Unternehmen zu erkennen und zu verbessern.

  • Erhebt die Branchenstandards
  • Soll zeigen, was die besten Verfahren sind, um Schwächen in der eigenen Organisation zu erkennen
  • Verfolgt Veränderungen und Fortschritte innerhalb der eigenen Organisation (internes Benchmarking)

Was wir dazu beitragen können ist den Unterschied zwischen mehreren Unternehmen, Konkurrenten (z.B. in der Qualität von Beratungsleistungen) bzw. die Veränderung während der Zeit innerhalb eines Unternehmens zu erheben.

Kunden-Befragung

Die gebräuchlichste Methode zur Erhebung der Kundenzufriedenheit. Sie kann:

  • Einstellung der Kunden zu Ihrer Firma messen
  • Trends aufzeigen
  • die Auswirkungen Ihres Marketings erheben
  • nachweisen wie erfolgreich Ihre Anstrengungen waren sich zu verbessern.

Mystery Shopping

Der Königsweg um zu überprüfen wie VerkäuferInnen/BeraterInnen gegenüber einem Kunden reagieren:

Sie schicken einen echten Kunden oder jemanden, vom dem die Angestellten zumindest glauben, dass er ein echter Kunde ist, um die Ihre Filialen/Outlets/etc. zu testen.

So können Sie eindeutig sehen, ob die BeraterInnen so beraten, wie Sie beraten sollen, und ob am POS die Produkte empfohlen werden, die Sie verkaufen möchten.

Weitere Informationen zu Mystery Shopping

MitarbeiterInnen-Befragungen

sind aus mehreren Gründen wichtig zur Erhebung der Kundenzufriedenheit:

MitarbeiterIn als interner Kunde:

MitarbeiterInnen eines Unternehmens stehen zueinander in einer Kunden-Lieferanten-Beziehung und sind dadurch auch interne Kunden eines Unternehmens.

MitarbeiterInnenbefragung als Frühwarnsystem:

Aufgrund ihrer täglichen Arbeit erkennen MitarbeiterInnen Schwachstellen früher als Kunden.

Vermittelt den MitarbeiterInnen Wertschätzung und Vertrauen:

Die vom Management gesetzten Maßnahmen müssen von den MitarbeiterInnen aktiv unterstützt werden.

Lost-Customer-Analysen

werden vor allem für jene Kunden/Segmente eingesetzt, mit denen ein hoher Umsatz/Gewinn gemacht wird. Es ist die stärkste Waffe um verlorene Kunden wiederzugewinnen bzw. Kunden zu behalten, die gerade dabei sind, zu wechseln.

Vorteile:

  • Lost-Customer-Analysen haben einen außergewöhnlich hohen „Return of Investment”. Beinahe verlorene Kunden können extrem loyal werden, wenn Sie deren Problem beheben.
  • Die Gründe herauszufinden, warum eine Kunde abwandert, hilft die Konkurrenz besser zu verstehen.

Perceptual-Research

soll untersuchen wie Ihr Unternehmen im Vergleich zu Ihren Konkurrenten wahrgenommen wird.

Wenn nur die eigenen Kunden befragt werden, entsteht oft ein sehr verzerrtes Bild von der Wirklichkeit. Ihre Kunden können mit Ihnen zufrieden sein und trotzdem kann es eine große Anzahl von Kunden mit speziellen Bedürfnissen geben, die extrem loyal Ihrem Konkurrenten gegenüber sind. Warum? Vielleicht bietet Ihr Konkurrent eine Reihe von Features an, die Sie noch nicht bedacht haben.

Darum werden in diesen Studien nicht nur Ihre Kunden befragt, sondern auch die Kunden Ihrer Konkurrenten sowie alle anderen potentiellen Kunden. So kann der eigentlich Marktwert Ihres Unternehmens erhoben werden und zwar nicht nur aus der Sicht der eigenen Kunden, sondern aus der des gesamten Marktes.

Focus-Gruppen

sind Gruppen zwischen 6 und 12 Personen, die sich treffen, um über ein bestimmtes Thema zu sprechen.

Mögliche Einsatzgebiete sind:

  • Tests: Kunden testen Produkte und Services und geben dazu Rückmeldungen
  • Zufriedenheit: Kunden sprechen über die feinen Unterschiede, was bei einer Serviceleistung zufrieden bzw. unzufrieden macht.
  • Ad-hoc Probleme: Kunden liefern Ansätze wie Probleme mit bestimmten Produkten oder Dienstleistungen gelöst werden können.
  • etc.

Invent-the-future Gruppen

sind eine Sonderform der Focus-Gruppen. Es geht hier weniger um aktuelle Probleme, sondern vielmehr versuchen Kunden über Brainstorming die 'Zukunft zu erfinden'. Wie können die Services der Zukunft aussehen, was kann und sollte angeboten werden?

Advisory Gruppen

Während bei Focus-Gruppen die Personen nur einmal teilnehmen, treffen sich in Advisory-Gruppen dieselben Personen in regelmäßigen Abständen. Teilnehmer sind oft besonders 'wertvolle' Kunden, denen die Gelegenheit gegeben wird Produkte/Services mitzuentwickeln. Neben den Möglichkeiten, wie sie in Focus-Gruppen bestehen, gibt es hier auch die Option, dass sich partnerschaftliche Beziehungen zu den 'wertvollen' Kunden entwickeln.

Transaktions-Analysen

sind Befragungen, die die Zufriedenheit des Kunden im alltäglichen Umgang mit einem Unternehmen messen. Transaktionen können dabei mit Personenkontakt (Kauf einer Kinokarte ...) als auch ohne (Rechnungen ...) stattfinden.

Die Befragungen müssen in möglichst kurzer Zeit nach der Transaktion stattfinden.

  • Der Kunde kann sich dadurch noch sehr gut erinnern und eventuelle Probleme beschreiben
  • Probleme können sofort behoben werden (Real-times fixes)
  • Macht einen guten Eindruck, der Kunde fühlt sich umsorgt

Beispiel zum besseren Verständnis:

Kunde hat sein Auto reparieren lassen und bekommt die Rechnung zugeschickt. Am nächsten Tag ruft jemand an ob alles okay war, ob die Rechnung verständlich ist (falls unklar, kann sie sofort erklärt werden), ob man mit der Reparatur zufrieden war, ob es Verbesserungsvorschläge gibt.

New Customer Feedback

Der erste Kontakt eines Kunden mit einem Produkt/einer Dienstleistung ist von entscheidender Bedeutung für die Wiederwahl. Solche Nach-Befragungen sollen daher vor allem die Zufriedenheit beim Erstkontakt sicherstellen und die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Unternehmen erleichtern.

Sie sind ähnlich aufgebaut wie Transaktions-Analysen aber auf Neukunden zugeschnitten. Auch sie sollen möglichst sofort nach dem Erstkontakt durchgeführt werden.

Beispiel:

Kunde kauft ein sündteures Fax, das angeblich alles kann. Das Manual ist aber so kompliziert, dass er es kaum in Betrieb nehmen kann. Er wird sich das nächste Mal für ein anderes Produkt entscheiden (wahrscheinlich für eines, von dem er weiß, dass es er bedienen kann).

Beschwerde-Analyse

Auf einen unzufriedenen Kunden, der sich beschwert, kommen neun, die einfach weggehen. Jeder unzufriedene Kunde erzählt ungefähr 10 anderen Personen davon. So gesehen bedeutet eine Beschwerde, die nicht zufrieden stellend gehandhabt wird, den Verlust von rund 100 potentiellen Kunden. Wir denken diese Zahlen, die auf einer IBM-Studie beruhen, sprechen für sich selbst.

Beschwerdemanagement ist zwar eine unternehmensinterne Angelegenheit, aber es gibt dennoch einige Dinge, die effizienter extern durchgeführt werden.

© 2016 Hoffmann & Forcher