BRAND ESSENCE ANALYSIS

Laddering in Practice

Our point of departure is the consideration (or assumption, or theory) that people do things and buy things because these things have positive consequences for the buyer and make a positive contribution to their personal convictions and set of values.

Traditionally applied attitude and image research has not been able to provide information on the connection between product or brand characteristics and the consumer's personal set of values.

This is where laddering comes into play. In laddering, attention is paid to the chain which arises - beginning with a selected characteristic and proceeding on to consequences which are associated with that characteristic, and extending to the value which is represented by the characteristic. In this way it is possible to highlight whether and to what extent a brand corresponds to a consumer's personal set of values.

Currently, laddering techniques are not widely used in European market research. In order to give the reader a brief and simple example of laddering, please see below for an illustration of how to establish the link between brands/products and the personal set of values which are related back to them.

Let us imagine that we are analyzing beer brands and the meaning of bottle sizes.

Interviewer: You said that there is a difference between a half pint and a pint bottle. Which do you prefer?

Befragter: I always buy half pint bottles.

Interviewer: What is the advantage of a half pint bottle?

Befragter: I just buy them out of habit

Interviewer: And why do you normally not buy pint bottles?

Befragter: It is too much at once and it gets warm before I can finish it. Then I have to pour the rest down the drain.

Interviewer: And how do you feel when you have to pour it down the drain?

Befragter: It irritates me because I am wasting my money.

Interviewer: How important is your money?

Befragter: look after the household budget and I'm responsible for money being spent in the right way.

Excerpt from Laddering Theory, Method, Analysis and Interpretation by T. J. Reynolds and J. Guttman.

Here it is apparent how a chain made of product attributes (size) and consequences ("too much," "gets warm," "have to pour the rest down the drain") leads to the consumer's personal value set (responsibility).

The excerpt above is naturally the viewpoint of only one respondent. In the course of an entire exploration however, in compiling the statements of all interviewees a differentiated image of the connection between the product and the consumer's personal set of values can be established.

© 2016 Hoffmann & Forcher

MARKEN-KERN-ANALYSEN

Laddering in der Praxis

Ausgangspunkt ist die Überlegung/Annahme/Theorie, dass Menschen Dinge tun und/oder kaufen, weil diese positive Konsequenzen für sie haben, einen positiven Beitrag zu ihren persönlichen Überzeugungen und Werthaltungen leisten.

Die herkömmlich angewandte Einstellungs- und Imageforschung konnte bisher keine Informationen darüber liefern, wie die Zusammenhänge zwischen den Eigenschaften eines Produkt oder einer Marke und persönlichen Werthaltungen von KonsumentInnen aussehen.

Hier setzt das Laddering an: Beim 'Laddern' wird darauf geachtet, dass eine Kette entsteht, ausgehend von einer ausgewählten Eigenschaft über Konsequenzen, die mit der Eigenschaft verbunden sind, bis hin zu dem Wert, der dahinter steht. Somit kann aufgezeigt werden, ob und wieweit die Marke persönliche Werthaltungen der KonsumentInnen trifft.

Laddering-Techniken sind in der europäischen Marktforschung noch nicht so verbreitet, daher zeigen wir durch ein kurzes, einfaches Beispiel wie die Verknüpfung von Marken/Produkten und den dahinter stehenden persönlichen Werten erhoben werden kann.

Stellen wir uns vor, es geht bei der Analyse von Biermarken um Bedeutung von Flaschengrößen:

Interviewer: Sie sagen es gibt einen Unterschied zwischen 0,33 und 0,5 Liter Flaschen. Welche haben sie lieber?

Befragter: Ich kaufe immer 0,33 Liter Flaschen

Interviewer: Worin besteht der Vorteil einer 0,33 Liter Flasche?

Befragter: Ich kaufe sie einfach aus Gewohnheit.

Interviewer: Warum kaufen Sie gewöhnlich keine 0,5 Liter Flaschen?

Befragter: Es ist mir zuviel auf einmal und es wird warm bevor ich es austrinken kann. Dann muss ich den Rest wegschütten.

Interviewer: Wie fühlen Sie sich, wenn sie es wegschütten müssen?

Befragter: Es ärgert mich, weil ich mein Geld vergeude.

Interviewer: Wie wichtig ist Ihnen Geld?

Befragter: Ich bin zuständig für das Haushaltsbudget und ich bin verantwortlich dafür, dass das Geld auch richtig ausgegeben wird.

(Beispiel aus: T.J.Reynolds, J.Guttman:
Laddering Theory, Method, Analysis and Interpretation)

Hier können wir sehen, wie idealtypisch eine Kette aus Produktattributen (Größe) und Konsequenzen (ist zuviel, wird warm, muss den Rest wegschütten) zu den persönlichen Werthaltungen (Verantwortlichkeit) des Konsumenten führt.

Das ist natürlich nur die Einstellung eines einzelnen Befragten. Im Laufe der gesamten Untersuchung kann aber auf Basis der Aussagen aller Probanden ein differenziertes Bild vom Zusammenhang des Produkts und der persönlichen Werthaltungen der Konsumenten erstellt werden.

© 2016 Hoffmann & Forcher